top of page
Search
  • catholicblog6

𝕸𝖞 𝕯𝖊𝖘𝖊𝖗𝖙 𝕰𝖝𝖕𝖊𝖗𝖎𝖊𝖓𝖈𝖊 -



Deserts are dry, acrid, barren, places. They're a place you do not want to get stranded in. But things happen and you might find yourself stuck between a rock and a hard place. Or in this case, a desert.


But sometimes our souls get stranded too and become dry I should know, because I've been stranded before. I once lost my faith.


I would see prayer as nothing more than a chore. A useless repetition that did absolutely nothing. The routine of going to Mass was just that: a routine.


And boy was I wrong! I've never been so wrong in my life!


Everyone goes through a Desert Experience at some point in their life, and during this time it can be very hard to pray and to believe; to have hope.


But I was able to overcome it. Jesus had sent me a sign of his love for me. At that moment I knew that he was there, always watching over me.


Did you know that people in the desert that have dry mouths will stick a pebble on their tongues to stimulate saliva?


All I needed was a pebble to fire up my faith and help me see things more clearly.

He reminded me that I was loved and that He will always be there for me. He showed me my family and helped me realize how lucky I am to have them. He reminded me of all the small things in life, such as a smile, and our family gatherings.


When I opened my Bible later that evening, something dawned on me: It was the devil who was trying to tempt me and force me back into my wallowing darkness the entire time. I was then determined not to let Satan ruin my soul, and so I read.

I was able to read Scripture that night with a new fire ignited within my soul and a determination to stay faithful.

Our job as Christians is to keep that fire of faith going. It can be tough not to let your hope dim, or faith waver, but if there is anything I've learned, He will always come back for us. We are His sheep and He is the shepherd, looking out for us and not stopping until we are found.


God awaits the day for us to come back to Him. He will always be waiting with open arms welcoming us into His heavenly home.



Have you ever had a time when you lost your faith? A Desert Experience where you felt praying was hopeless? A time when you doubted that God was truly there? Where your hope ran dry?


You're not the only one...


Everyone will go through the Desert Experience at least once in their lifetime, if not more.

If you are going through hard times. know this: you are not alone. God is there, even if we can't see it. He shows us His love in subtle ways, whether it's someone's act of kindness or a stroke of 'good luck'*


"I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” -Joshua 1:9

I believe that those bad days make us cherish the good ones. Just a few days ago I had a terrible day at school. I was so upset and felt hopeless! But then the next day I let go of my worries, did what needed to be done, and moved on.


That day was average, but it felt great compared to the day prior.


I never appreciated these good days until after I had a bad one. We should always pray to God and thank him for our blessings. Our friends, family, sight, hearing, and the gift of life!


I am so blessed to go to a Catholic School and live in a place where I'm free to pray and openly express my beliefs.


Never be afraid to speak the truth. Don't hesitate to pray in public before meals. These are ways we can spread our faith and show others that we aren't ashamed.

If you are going through some difficulties, pray. And if you lost your way, take a break from everything. Relax and count your blessings. Think of all those good memories, and don't dwell on the past. If anything seems impossible, have patience...


Because we can overcome anything with Christ at our side.


*•.¸♡ 𝓡𝓸𝓼𝓲𝓮 𝓖 ♡¸.•*

*•.¸♡ 2/19/23 ♡¸.•*


*luck does not exist, as the concept of good and bad luck are superstitions, and believing in them can damage our relationship with God.



31 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page